Bouncing Off the Walls, What have we Done to Our Kids

Christi Griffin
4 min readJan 13, 2023
Photo by Mikhail Nilov

After decades of practicing law and dreaming about returning to the classroom, it was finally going to happen. As much as I enjoyed my first experience teaching as a long-term substitute, getting a state certificate to teach required two more years of undergraduate credits. Getting a law degree required three. I opted for law school.

For years I was in legal heaven, building a large practice of clients I could both represent and counsel. But after decades in the courtroom, I was ready to go back to the classroom. Teaching children with behavior disorders and learning disabilities had been rewarding and I wanted to see if the techniques used to win over a recalcitrant class of 4th graders in the 1980s would still be effective today. After completing the arduous certification process I was ready and with a serious shortage of teachers, I was assigned a 4th-grade class of my own.

To say things had changed would be an understatement. Even before I learned the names of my new little charges, I was sent to supervise a massive schoolyard filled with unfamiliar faces, open gates, and too many nooks and crannies. As a lawyer, it felt like an open field of landmines and traumatized, hyperactive children, running in as many directions as there were feet. Dozens of 1st-grade girls immediately surrounded lanky legs, desperate for attention…

--

--